Stung by the sewing bee

After watching The Great British Sewing Bee I was smitten – I wanted to learn how to use a sewing machine.

A couple of weekends ago I went to a sewing workshop for beginners at The Stitchery and it was great. I had never ever used a sewing machine and by the end of the day I had made a cushion cover by myself. Oh the sense of achievement!

Now I’m thinking of buying a sewing machine and make curtains with this dalarna fabric I bought a while ago. I don’t want it to break the bank, especially as I only want to make a few projects a year as a hobby. I noticed that at the Stitchery they had IKEA sewing machines, which are only £45 and seemed to do the trick!

I have to confess I am tempted by the colourful John Lewis ones, and they have a 1-year guarantee, but they do’t have buttonhole functions, tut tut. I think this calls for a trip to IKEA, what a shame…

One thought on “Stung by the sewing bee

  1. I think it would be a nice little temporary machine to see if you really love sewing. Give it a try and save for a less disposable machine if you find yourself really loving it. =)

    When I first saw this machine on display at my local IKEA, I remember thinking how tiny it is. As long as you aren’t doing massive skirts or quilting, it’s probably a great little portable for beginning.

Leave a Reply

